Tsai Ing-Wen’s First Cabinet Members Named

Tsai Ing-Wen’s First Cabinet Members Named
Photo Credit: AP / 達志影像

Incoming Premier Lin Chuan has named the first members of the Cabinet that will form President-elect Tsai Ing-wen’s administration, starting May 20.

Expectation has been building since mid-March after Tsai announced former finance minister Lin Chuan to be the Premier of her administration.

Lin yesterday told reporters that the new team was founded upon “professionalism, ability and experience.”

Cabinet members are chosen after discussion with Tsai and others, although Premier Lin said he reserves  the final say on appointments.

The incoming Cabinet so-far includes:

Vice premier Lin Hsi-yao (林錫耀),

Minister of health and welfare Lin Tzou-yien (林奏延),

Ministers without portfolio (Unassigned Ministers) Lin Mei-chu (林美珠), Chang Ching-sen (張景森), Shih Jun-ji (施俊吉) and Hsu Chang-yao (許璋瑤),

Future Cabinet spokesman Tung Chen-yuan (童振源) — who is currently in the US as a visiting professor.

Tsai said in March that the new Cabinet will focus on economic and social issues, and that its members would have “execution and communication ability.”

At the time, she also said she persuaded the “gentle yet firm” future Premier to return public office. He worked in the private sector after his work as Finance Minister under former President Chen Shiu-bian ended in 2006. He most notably served as the CFO for the New Frontier Foundation, a think tank created by Tsai.






Edited by Edward White