The News Lens international edition is sponsored by Tutor A B C

The Indonesian government will give 30 countries and regions visa-free privileges, including Taiwan. Taiwanese tourists visiting Indonesia will no longer need to pay US$ 35 for the visa upon arrival in the future. This new policy will be implemented as soon as October.

UDN reports, this June the Indonesian government has granted visa-free travel for citizens of 30 countries, including China, Japan, South Korea, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and the US. Together with the original 15 countries and regions, a total of 45 countries and regions will enjoy visa-free privileges in Indonesia. The new regulations state that the visa-free visitors may not stay more than 30 days. The duration of the stay cannot be extended and the visitors cannot convert to other types of visa during their stay.

Indonesian Tourism Minister Arief Yahya has given an advanced notice during an interview on September 1 saying that Taiwan will be included on the visa-free country list. He says that from the tourism point of view, Taiwan is one of Indonesia’s potential targets in promoting international tourism. He hopes that the number of Taiwanese tourists visiting Indonesia can reach 200 thousand people this year.

CNA reports, Chang Lian-jen, representative of Taipei Economic and Trade Office in Indonesia, says that throughout the past few months they have been negotiating with the Indonesian government to give Taiwan visa-free access. Now that the goal has been reached, it’s going to be more convenient for Taiwanese tourists to visit Indonesia in the future. In addition to saving the US$ 35 visa fee, tourists can also avoid certain problems upon entering the country.

Chang also says that Indonesia is a big country with hundreds of different languages and ethnic groups. Except for Bali, there are many other places worth visiting. He welcomes more Taiwanese people to visit Indonesia with this new visa-free privilege.

Translated by Vic Chiang
Edited by Olivia Yang